VHIS Hong Kong
FWD · S00036-01-000-03

FWD vCore Medical Plan

FWD vCore Medical Plan is a Standard Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number S00036-01-000-03. It entitles the insured to a standard ward (standard plan) room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$3,324
45HK$5,136
60HK$8,463
75HK$15,362

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomStandard ward (Standard Plan)
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitHK$420,000
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$750
Hospital chargesHK$14,000
Doctor's visitsHK$750
Specialist feesHK$4,300
Intensive careHK$3,500
Surgeon's feeHK$50,000
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$20,000
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$80,000
Outpatient before and afterAs stated in the schedule
Psychiatric treatmentHK$30,000

Also includes rehabilitation, hospice care, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to age100 p.16
Pre-existing conditions unknown at application0% year 1, 25% year 2, 50% year 3, 100% from year 4 p.25
Waiting periodnone
Cancellation and refundfull refund within 21-day cooling-off period if no benefits paid; after cooling-off, cancellation with 30 days notice if no benefits paid (refund not specified) p.6
Switching from another planpossible to switch to another plan, re-underwriting limited to upgraded/additional benefits p.18
Room classnot restricted p.21
If a higher room is usednot applicable as room class is not restricted p.21
Geographical coverworldwide (except psychiatric treatment) p.21
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.24
Emergency treatment abroadcovered worldwide p.21
Full cover on core benefitsno p.44
Annual limit420000 p.44
Lifetime limitnone p.44
Deductible optionsnone
How the deductible appliesnot applicable
Coinsurancenone (except for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests) p.26
Pre-admission outpatient1 visit prior to confinement/day case procedure, $580 per visit, up to $3,000 per Policy Year p.44
Post-discharge outpatient3 visits within 90 days after discharge/day case procedure, $580 per visit, up to $3,000 per Policy Year p.44
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatment30000 p.44
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% p.44
Non-surgical cancer treatment80000 p.44
Kidney dialysisnot stated
Day case procedurescovered as in-patient for relevant benefits, subject to individual benefit limits and annual limit p.21
Home nursingnone
Hospice carenone
Chinese medicinenone p.28
Physiotherapycovered during confinement and for 3 follow-up outpatient visits within 90 days after discharge/day case procedure p.22
Congenital conditionscovered if manifested or diagnosed after age 8 p.28
Pregnancy complicationsnone p.28
Emergency dentalcovered for emergency treatment and surgery during confinement arising from an accident p.27
Hospital cashnone
Companion bednone
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationavailable through Designated Healthcare Services Providers network p.41
No-claim discount10% for 2-4 consecutive claim-free years, 15% for 5+ consecutive claim-free years p.39
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listVenereal and sexually transmitted disease or its sequelae; Hair Mineral Analysis (HMA); Traditional Chinese medicine treatment (herbal, bone-setting, acupuncture, acupressure, tui na); Other alternative treatments (hypnotism, qigong, massage therapy, aromatherapy, naturopathy, hydropathy, homeotherapy) p.27

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, FWD has filed 3 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +1.3% a year, taking the premium from HK$4,672 to HK$5,136.

YearChange
2022no change
2023+3.0%
2024no change
2025+2.6%
2026+4.0%

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms