Sun Life WeHealth is a Standard Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number S00018-01-000-02. It entitles the insured to a standard ward (standard plan) room and covers treatment worldwide.
| Age | Annual premium |
|---|---|
| 30 | HK$2,118 |
| 45 | HK$3,472 |
| 60 | HK$6,402 |
| 75 | HK$11,845 |
Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.
| Room | Standard ward (Standard Plan) |
|---|---|
| Geographical cover | worldwide |
| Annual limit | HK$420,000 |
| Lifetime limit | None |
| Room and board | HK$750 |
| Hospital charges | HK$14,000 |
| Doctor's visits | HK$750 |
| Specialist fees | HK$4,300 |
| Intensive care | HK$3,500 |
| Surgeon's fee | HK$50,000 |
| Anaesthetist | As stated in the schedule |
| Operating theatre | As stated in the schedule |
| Diagnostic imaging | HK$20,000 |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | HK$80,000 |
| Outpatient before and after | HK$3,000 |
| Psychiatric treatment | HK$30,000 |
Also includes hospital cash, a death benefit.
Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.
| Guaranteed renewal to age | 100 p.17 |
|---|---|
| Pre-existing conditions unknown at application | 0% year 1, 25% year 2, 50% year 3, 100% from year 4 p.28 |
| Waiting period | none |
| Cancellation and refund | Full refund within 21-day cooling-off period p.4 |
| Switching from another plan | Possible to switch to another plan with upgrade/addition of benefits, subject to re-underwriting for the upgraded/additional benefits p.18 |
| Room class | not restricted p.24 |
| If a higher room is used | not applicable p.24 |
| Geographical cover | worldwide p.24 |
| Psychiatric treatment area | Hong Kong only p.27 |
| Emergency treatment abroad | covered worldwide p.24 |
| Full cover on core benefits | no p.47 |
| Annual limit | 420000 p.47 |
| Lifetime limit | none p.47 |
| Deductible options | none p.34 |
| How the deductible applies | not applicable |
| Coinsurance | none (except for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests) p.29 |
| Pre-admission outpatient | 1 visit per confinement/day case procedure, $580 per visit, up to $3,000 per Policy Year p.47 |
| Post-discharge outpatient | 3 visits per confinement/day case procedure within 90 days, $580 per visit, up to $3,000 per Policy Year p.47 |
| General outpatient | none |
| Psychiatric treatment | 30000 p.47 |
| Diagnostic imaging coinsurance | 30% p.47 |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | 80000 p.47 |
| Kidney dialysis | not stated |
| Day case procedures | Covered as in-patient for various items, plus $1,000 cash benefit per surgical procedure p.23 |
| Home nursing | none |
| Hospice care | none p.35 |
| Chinese medicine | none p.31 |
| Physiotherapy | Covered during confinement under miscellaneous charges, and for 3 follow-up outpatient visits post-discharge p.24 |
| Congenital conditions | Covered if manifested or diagnosed at or after age 8 p.32 |
| Pregnancy complications | none p.31 |
| Emergency dental | Covered for emergency treatment and surgery during confinement arising from an accident p.31 |
| Hospital cash | $1,000 per surgical procedure for day surgery p.47 |
| Companion bed | none |
| Second medical opinion | not stated |
| Direct billing and pre-authorisation | not stated |
| No-claim discount | none |
| Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard list | Purchase of durable medical equipment or appliances; Traditional Chinese medicine treatment and other alternative treatments p.31 |
At a constant age of 45, Sun Life has filed 1 schedule change on this plan since 2021, an average of +1.2% a year, taking the premium from HK$3,185 to HK$3,472.
| Year | Change |
|---|---|
| 2022 | no change |
| 2023 | no change |
| 2024 | no change |
| 2025 | no change |
| 2026 | +9.0% |
A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.
Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.
Every procedure with published bills
The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.