VHIS Hong Kong
AIA · S00013-01-000-02

AIA Voluntary Health Insurance Standard Scheme

AIA Voluntary Health Insurance Standard Scheme is a Standard Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number S00013-01-000-02. It entitles the insured to a standard ward (standard plan) room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$3,586
45HK$6,187
60HK$8,354
75HK$18,644

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomStandard ward (Standard Plan)
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitHK$420,000
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$750
Hospital chargesHK$14,000
Doctor's visitsHK$750
Specialist feesHK$4,300
Intensive careHK$3,500
Surgeon's feeHK$50,000
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$20,000
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$80,000
Outpatient before and afterHK$3,000
Psychiatric treatmentHK$420,000

Also includes outpatient general, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to age100 p.12
Pre-existing conditions unknown at application0% year 1, 25% year 2, 50% year 3, 100% from year 4 p.19
Waiting periodnone
Cancellation and refundfull refund within 21-day cooling-off period; no refund after cooling-off period for policyholder cancellation p.4
Switching from another planpossible to switch to another plan, re-underwriting applies for upgraded benefits p.13
Room classnot restricted p.15
If a higher room is usednot applicable p.15
Geographical coverworldwide p.15
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.18
Emergency treatment abroadcovered worldwide p.15
Full cover on core benefitsno p.29
Annual limit420000 p.29
Lifetime limitnone p.29
Deductible optionsnone
How the deductible appliesnone
Coinsurancenone p.19
Pre-admission outpatient1 visit per confinement/day case procedure, up to HKD 3,000 per policy year p.29
Post-discharge outpatient3 visits within 90 days after discharge/day case procedure, up to HKD 3,000 per policy year p.29
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatment30000 p.29
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% p.29
Non-surgical cancer treatment80000 p.29
Kidney dialysisnot stated
Day case procedurescovered as in-patient, subject to annual limits p.15
Home nursingnone p.24
Hospice carenone p.24
Chinese medicinenone p.21
Physiotherapycovered during confinement and for 3 follow-up outpatient visits within 90 days post-discharge, up to HKD 3,000 per policy year p.16
Congenital conditionscovered from age 8 p.21
Pregnancy complicationsnone p.21
Emergency dentalcovered for emergency treatment and surgery during confinement arising from an accident p.20
Hospital cashnone
Companion bednone
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationnot stated
No-claim discount5% after 3 claims-free years, 10% after 4, 15% after 5 or more p.42
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listPurchase of durable medical equipment or appliances; Traditional Chinese medicine treatment and other alternative treatments p.20

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, AIA has filed 3 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +2.1% a year, taking the premium from HK$5,299 to HK$6,187.

YearChange
2022no change
2023no change
2024+3.0%
2025+9.0%
2026+4.0%

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
Standard PlanStandard ward (Standard Plan)NoneHKD420,000 per Policy Year
Standard PlanStandard ward (Standard Plan)NoneHKD420,000 per Policy Year

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms