FWD vPrime Signature Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00070-09-000-02. It entitles the insured to a semi-private room and covers treatment worldwide.
| Age | Annual premium |
|---|---|
| 30 | HK$5,657 |
| 45 | HK$7,882 |
| 60 | HK$16,840 |
| 75 | HK$42,858 |
Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.
| Room | Semi-private |
|---|---|
| Geographical cover | worldwide |
| Annual limit | HK$18,500,000 |
| Lifetime limit | None |
| Room and board | Paid in full |
| Hospital charges | Paid in full |
| Doctor's visits | Paid in full |
| Specialist fees | Paid in full |
| Intensive care | Paid in full |
| Surgeon's fee | Paid in full |
| Anaesthetist | Paid in full |
| Operating theatre | Paid in full |
| Diagnostic imaging | Paid in full |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | Paid in full |
| Outpatient before and after | Paid in full |
| Psychiatric treatment | Paid in full |
Also includes dental, maternity, a companion bed, hospital cash, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, reconstructive surgery, the deductible waived for critical conditions, a death benefit.
Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.
| Guaranteed renewal to age | 100 p.14 |
|---|---|
| Pre-existing conditions unknown at application | First 30 days of the first Policy Year no coverage; 31st day of the first Policy Year onwards full coverage p.24 |
| Waiting period | none |
| Cancellation and refund | Full refund within 21-day cooling-off period if no benefits paid. After cooling-off, cancellation with 30 days' notice if no benefits paid in policy year. p.5 |
| Switching from another plan | Possible to switch to another plan with upgraded/additional benefits, subject to re-underwriting for the upgraded/additional benefits. p.15 |
| Room class | Standard Semi-private Room in Hong Kong, Macau or Mainland China; Standard Private Room worldwide (excluding Hong Kong, Macau, Mainland China and the USA) or for Emergency Treatment in the USA p.64 |
| If a higher room is used | If a higher ward class is chosen, a ward class adjustment factor is applied: Standard Semi-private to Standard Private (50%), Standard Semi-private to Above Standard Private (25%), Standard Private to Above Standard Private (25%) p.52 |
| Geographical cover | Worldwide excluding the United States of America (“USA”) p.64 |
| Psychiatric treatment area | Hong Kong only p.23 |
| Emergency treatment abroad | Worldwide, full cover p.64 |
| Full cover on core benefits | yes p.65 |
| Annual limit | 18500000 p.64 |
| Lifetime limit | none p.64 |
| Deductible options | 0, 25000 p.56 |
| How the deductible applies | Per Policy Year, with a one-off right to reduce or remove at ages 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, or 80 p.50 |
| Coinsurance | none |
| Pre-admission outpatient | Full cover. All prior outpatient visits within 31 days before admission/Day Case Procedure (1 visit/day); One prior outpatient visit more than 31 days before admission/Day Case Procedure. p.65 |
| Post-discharge outpatient | Full cover. All follow-up outpatient visits within 90 days after discharge/Day Case Procedure (1 visit/day). p.65 |
| General outpatient | none |
| Psychiatric treatment | Full cover p.65 |
| Diagnostic imaging coinsurance | none p.65 |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | Full cover p.65 |
| Kidney dialysis | Full cover for outpatient kidney dialysis. Additional benefit of HKD2,500,000 per Policy Year for kidney dialysis incurred during Confinement or outpatient. p.66 |
| Day case procedures | Covered as in-patient. Cash benefit of HKD3,600 for designated procedures at designated providers/mainland China, or HKD1,800 for other procedures. p.66 |
| Home nursing | Full cover, maximum 196 days per Policy Year (within 196 days after discharge from Hospital following surgery or ICU admission) p.66 |
| Hospice care | HKD100,000 per Policy Year p.66 |
| Chinese medicine | HKD600 per visit, maximum 15 follow-up outpatient visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure (within 90 days after discharge/completion) p.67 |
| Physiotherapy | Rehabilitation treatment HKD100,000 per Policy Year. Stroke ancillary benefit HKD1,000 per visit, max 30 visits/year and HKD100,000 per incident. p.66 |
| Congenital conditions | Covered if unknown at application (after 30-day waiting period in first policy year); otherwise subject to case-based exclusion. p.24 |
| Pregnancy complications | Full cover for listed complications, provided diagnosis is at least 12 months after Policy Effective Date. p.67 |
| Emergency dental | Full cover for emergency treatment to sound natural teeth due to injury, within 3 months of accident. p.45 |
| Hospital cash | HKD1,000/day (max 60 days/year) for top-up subsidy; HKD1,700/day (max 30 days/year) for lower room class in HK private hospital; HKD12,000/confinement for ICU in HK. p.66 |
| Companion bed | Full cover p.66 |
| Second medical opinion | not stated |
| Direct billing and pre-authorisation | Available for designated Day Case Procedures through Designated Healthcare Services Providers network, requiring reservation and identification. p.47 |
| No-claim discount | 10% for 2-4 consecutive claim-free years, 15% for 5+ consecutive claim-free years. Extra discount for multiple policies. p.48 |
| Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard list | Not Medically Necessary treatments; Venereal and sexually transmitted diseases; Most traditional Chinese medicine and alternative treatments (with exceptions). p.26 |
At a constant age of 45, FWD has filed 1 schedule change on this plan since 2021, an average of -2.0% a year, taking the premium from HK$8,369 to HK$7,882.
| Year | Change |
|---|---|
| 2024 | no change |
| 2025 | no change |
| 2026 | -5.8% |
A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.
Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.
Every procedure with published bills
The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.