VHIS Hong Kong
BUPA · F00029-03-000-06

Bupa MyFlexi VHIS Plan

Bupa MyFlexi VHIS Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00029-03-000-06. It entitles the insured to a private room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$14,003
45HK$24,189
60HK$43,520
75HK$93,689

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomPrivate
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$4,000
Hospital chargesHK$45,600
Doctor's visitsHK$3,900
Specialist feesHK$13,400
Intensive careHK$8,000
Surgeon's feeHK$126,000
AnaesthetistHK$43,200
Operating theatreHK$43,200
Diagnostic imagingHK$40,000
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$158,000
Outpatient before and afterHK$6,000
Psychiatric treatmentHK$30,000

Also includes outpatient general, chinese medicine, a companion bed, kidney dialysis.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to age100 p.13
Pre-existing conditions unknown at application100% from year 1 p.21
Waiting periodnone
Cancellation and refundFull refund if cancelled within 21-day cooling-off period, provided no benefit payment has been made. p.4
Switching from another planSwitching to another plan with upgraded benefits requires re-underwriting; switching to a plan with downgraded benefits is at company's discretion without re-underwriting. p.14
Room classnot restricted p.17
If a higher room is usedBenefits under supplementary major medical benefit are adjusted by multiplying adjustment factors (50%, 25%, or 0%) after 20% coinsurance, if a higher room class than restricted is used. p.38
Geographical coverworldwide p.17
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.20
Emergency treatment abroadCovered worldwide p.17
Full cover on core benefitsno p.37
Annual limitunlimited p.58
Lifetime limitnone p.58
Deductible optionsnone
Coinsurancenone
Pre-admission outpatient2 visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, $6,000 per Policy Year p.57
Post-discharge outpatientAll related follow-up visits within 90 days after discharge/completion of Day Case Procedure, $6,000 per Policy Year p.57
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatmentHKD 30,000 per Policy Year p.57
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% p.57
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHKD 158,000 per Policy Year p.57
Kidney dialysisHKD 158,000 per Policy Year p.58
Day case proceduresCovered as in-patient, subject to individual benefit limits p.17
Home nursingHKD 1,020 per day, maximum 120 days per Policy Year, at residential home within 180 days after discharge p.43
Hospice carenone p.27
Chinese medicineHKD 360 per visit, maximum 20 visits per Policy Year, for consultation or acupuncture after Confinement or specific treatments p.23
PhysiotherapyCovered during Confinement or as post-discharge follow-up under Pre- and post-Confinement/Day Case Procedure outpatient care ($6,000 per Policy Year) p.18
Congenital conditionsCovered if manifested or diagnosed at or after age 8 p.24
Pregnancy complicationsnone p.23
Emergency dentalCovered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.23
Hospital cashnone
Companion bedHKD 1,880 per day, maximum 270 days per Policy Year p.43
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationBHP Card for credit facilities and pre-authorisation for full cover benefit at Bupa HealthPlus Appointed Service Providers in Hong Kong p.41
No-claim discount5% for 2-3 years no claim, 10% for 4-5 years no claim, 15% for 6+ years no claim p.49
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listpurchase of durable medical equipment or appliances; most traditional Chinese medicine and alternative treatments p.22

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, Bupa has filed 5 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +5.0% a year, taking the premium from HK$16,856 to HK$24,189.

YearChange
2022+2.0%
2023+3.5%
2024+8.0%
2025+13.8%
2026+10.6%

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
DeluxeNoneNil (no annual limit)
DeluxeNoneNil (no annual limit)
DeluxeNoneNil (no annual limit)

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms