VHIS Hong Kong
BUPA · F00029-02-000-06

Bupa MyFlexi VHIS Plan

Bupa MyFlexi VHIS Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00029-02-000-06. It entitles the insured to a semi-private room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$8,637
45HK$15,536
60HK$27,678
75HK$45,947

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomSemi-private
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$2,100
Hospital chargesHK$25,600
Doctor's visitsHK$1,800
Specialist feesHK$5,050
Intensive careHK$5,400
Surgeon's feeHK$81,000
AnaesthetistHK$28,300
Operating theatreHK$28,300
Diagnostic imagingHK$30,000
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$123,000
Outpatient before and afterHK$3,600
Psychiatric treatmentHK$30,000

Also includes outpatient general, chinese medicine, a companion bed, kidney dialysis.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to age100 p.13
Pre-existing conditions unknown at application100% from year 1 p.21
Waiting periodNone, except for HIV/AIDS where manifestation within 5 years is presumed pre-existing p.23
Cancellation and refundFull refund within 21-day cooling-off period; no refund after cooling-off if benefits paid; pro-rata refund for current policy year if terminated due to death or company ceasing authorization. p.4
Switching from another planPossible to switch to another plan with upgraded benefits, but re-underwriting may apply to the upgraded benefits. p.14
Room classNot restricted for basic benefits; restricted ward class or lower for full cover benefit p.17
If a higher room is usedBenefits adjusted by multiplying adjustment factors (50%, 25%, or 0%) after 20% coinsurance if a higher room class than restricted is used, unless due to unavailability or medical necessity. p.2
Geographical coverWorldwide, except for psychiatric treatment and full cover benefit p.17
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.20
Emergency treatment abroadCovered if directly resulting from an Emergency condition outside Hong Kong, for supplementary major medical benefit. p.2
Full cover on core benefitsNo, benefits are subject to per-item caps; an optional 'full cover benefit' is available but also subject to its own benefit limit. p.1
Annual limitUnlimited p.57
Lifetime limitNone p.57
Deductible optionsNone p.57
Coinsurance30% for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests; 20% for supplementary major medical benefit p.57
Pre-admission outpatient2 prior outpatient visits or Emergency consultations per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, up to $3,600 per Policy Year p.57
Post-discharge outpatientAll related follow-up outpatient visits within 90 days after discharge/completion of Day Case Procedure, up to $3,600 per Policy Year p.57
General outpatientNone
Psychiatric treatmentHKD 30,000 per Policy Year p.57
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% p.57
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHKD 123,000 per Policy Year p.57
Kidney dialysisHKD 123,000 per Policy Year p.57
Day case proceduresCovered as in-patient for various benefits, no specific overall limit stated beyond individual benefit limits p.17
Home nursingHKD 680 per day, maximum 120 days per Policy Year p.57
Hospice careNone p.27
Chinese medicineConsultation or acupuncture by Registered Chinese Medicine Practitioner after Confinement or specific treatments, HKD 270 per visit, maximum 20 visits per Policy Year p.57
PhysiotherapyCovered during Confinement and under pre- and post-Confinement/Day Case Procedure outpatient care (up to $3,600 per Policy Year) p.18
Congenital conditionsCovered from age 8 p.24
Pregnancy complicationsNone p.24
Emergency dentalCovered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.24
Hospital cashSecond claims incentive: HKD 1,050 per day, maximum 270 days per Policy Year, if other insurance pays p.57
Companion bedHKD 850 per day, maximum 270 days per Policy Year p.57
Second medical opinionNot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationAvailable via BHP Card for full cover benefit at Bupa HealthPlus Appointed Service Providers in Hong Kong, subject to pre-authorisation p.4
No-claim discount5% for 2-3 years, 10% for 4-5 years, 15% for 6+ years of no claims p.13
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listpurchase of durable medical equipment or appliances for home use; traditional Chinese medicine treatment (except specific post-confinement/treatment consultation/acupuncture); other alternative treatments (hypnotism, qigong, massage, aromatherapy, naturopathy, homeotherapy); expenses reimbursed by other laws, medical programs, or insurance policies. p.23

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, Bupa has filed 5 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +6.2% a year, taking the premium from HK$9,991 to HK$15,536.

YearChange
2022+8.0%
2023+4.0%
2024+10.0%
2025+13.8%
2026+10.6%

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
AdvanceNoneNil (no annual limit)
AdvanceNoneNil (no annual limit)
AdvanceNoneNil (no annual limit)

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms