Chow Tai Fook ''BetterCare'' Medical Insurance Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00021-06-000-03. It entitles the insured to a private room and covers treatment worldwide.
| Age | Annual premium |
|---|---|
| 30 | HK$2,715 |
| 45 | HK$4,363 |
| 60 | HK$6,715 |
| 75 | HK$12,455 |
Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.
| Room | Private |
|---|---|
| Geographical cover | worldwide |
| Annual limit | HK$90,325 |
| Lifetime limit | None |
| Room and board | HK$520 |
| Hospital charges | HK$3,100 |
| Doctor's visits | HK$495 |
| Specialist fees | HK$1,295 |
| Intensive care | HK$1,295 |
| Surgeon's fee | HK$10,840 |
| Anaesthetist | As stated in the schedule |
| Operating theatre | As stated in the schedule |
| Diagnostic imaging | HK$3,875 |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | HK$19,355 |
| Outpatient before and after | HK$905 |
| Psychiatric treatment | HK$7,745 |
Also includes outpatient general, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, a death benefit.
Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.
| Guaranteed renewal to age | 100 p.13 |
|---|---|
| Pre-existing conditions unknown at application | 0% year 1, 25% year 2, 50% year 3, 100% from year 4 p.23 |
| Waiting period | none |
| Cancellation and refund | full refund within 21-day cooling-off period if no claim made p.5 |
| Switching from another plan | possible to switch to another plan, re-underwriting for upgrades, discretion for downgrades p.15 |
| Room class | Standard Private Room p.41 |
| If a higher room is used | 50% coinsurance if using a room class above Standard Private Room p.37 |
| Geographical cover | worldwide excluding psychiatric treatment p.18 |
| Psychiatric treatment area | Hong Kong only p.18 |
| Emergency treatment abroad | covered worldwide p.18 |
| Full cover on core benefits | no p.41 |
| Annual limit | 90325 USD p.42 |
| Lifetime limit | none p.18 |
| Deductible options | none |
| How the deductible applies | none |
| Coinsurance | none |
| Pre-admission outpatient | 1 visit per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, up to 105 USD per visit and 905 USD per Policy Year p.41 |
| Post-discharge outpatient | 5 visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure within 90 days after discharge, up to 105 USD per visit and 905 USD per Policy Year p.41 |
| General outpatient | none |
| Psychiatric treatment | 7745 USD per Policy Year p.41 |
| Diagnostic imaging coinsurance | 30% p.41 |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | 19355 USD per Policy Year p.41 |
| Kidney dialysis | not stated |
| Day case procedures | covered as in-patient, subject to benefit limits p.19 |
| Home nursing | 130 USD per visit, 1 visit per day within 90 days after discharge, 30 visits per Policy Year p.42 |
| Hospice care | none p.28 |
| Chinese medicine | none p.26 |
| Physiotherapy | covered during confinement and as part of post-discharge outpatient care p.20 |
| Congenital conditions | covered from age 8 p.26 |
| Pregnancy complications | none p.26 |
| Emergency dental | covered for emergency treatment and surgery during confinement arising from an accident p.25 |
| Hospital cash | none |
| Companion bed | 65 USD per day, maximum 30 days per Policy Year p.41 |
| Second medical opinion | not stated |
| Direct billing and pre-authorisation | pre-authorisation for claimable amount estimate available p.17 |
| No-claim discount | 16% discount, reduced to 8% then 0% after a claim, resumes 16% after 3 claim-free years p.36 |
| Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard list | Purchase of durable medical equipment or appliances; Traditional Chinese medicine and other alternative treatments p.25 |
At a constant age of 45, Chow Tai Fook has filed 4 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +5.4% a year, taking the premium from HK$2,927 to HK$4,363.
| Year | Change |
|---|---|
| 2022 | +10.0% |
| 2023 | +10.0% |
| 2024 | +10.0% |
| 2025 | +12.0% |
| 2026 | no change |
A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.
| Option | Room | Deductible | Annual limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Benefit Level 3 with SMM (USD) | Private | None | USD 90,325 per Policy Year |
| Benefit Level 3 with SMM (USD) | Private | None | USD 90,325 per Policy Year |
| Benefit Level 3 with SMM (USD) | Private | None | USD 90,325 per Policy Year |
| Benefit Level 3 with SMM (USD) | Private | None | USD 90,325 per Policy Year |
| Benefit Level 3 with SMM (USD) | Private | None | USD 90,325 per Policy Year |
| Benefit Level 3 with SMM (USD) | Private | None | USD 90,325 per Policy Year |
| Benefit Level 3 with SMM (USD) | Private | None | USD 90,325 per Policy Year |
| Benefit Level 3 with SMM (USD) | Private | None | USD 90,325 per Policy Year |
Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.
Every procedure with published bills
The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.