VHIS Hong Kong
AXA · F00018-04-000-03

AXA Smart Medicare

AXA Smart Medicare is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00018-04-000-03. It entitles the insured to a ward room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$429
45HK$724
60HK$1,169
75HK$2,413

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomWard
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$100
Hospital chargesHK$1,820
Doctor's visitsHK$98
Specialist feesHK$560
Intensive careHK$455
Surgeon's feeHK$6,495
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$2,598
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$10,390
Outpatient before and afterHK$390
Psychiatric treatmentHK$3,898

Also includes outpatient general, dental, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to age100 p.13
Pre-existing conditions unknown at application0% year 1, 25% year 2, 50% year 3, 100% from year 4 p.23
Waiting periodnone
Cancellation and refundFull refund within 21-day cooling-off period; after cooling-off, cancellation with 30 days' notice if no benefit paid in policy year p.4
Switching from another planSwitching to another plan with upgraded benefits is subject to re-underwriting p.15
Room classnot restricted p.18
If a higher room is usednot applicable p.18
Geographical coverworldwide p.18
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.22
Emergency treatment abroadcovered worldwide p.18
Full cover on core benefitsno p.44
Annual limitunlimited p.45
Lifetime limitnone p.45
Deductible optionsnone
How the deductible appliesnot applicable
Coinsurancenone
Pre-admission outpatient1 visit per confinement/day case procedure, up to USD76 per visit, total pre/post-discharge up to USD390 per policy year p.44
Post-discharge outpatient3 visits within 90 days after discharge/day case procedure, up to USD76 per visit, total pre/post-discharge up to USD390 per policy year p.44
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatmentUSD3,898 per Policy Year p.44
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% p.44
Non-surgical cancer treatmentUSD10,390 per Policy Year p.44
Kidney dialysisCovered up to USD6,495 per Policy Year p.44
Day case proceduresCovered as in-patient, subject to per-item limits p.19
Home nursingnone
Hospice carenone p.29
Chinese medicinenone p.26
PhysiotherapyCovered during confinement and for follow-up outpatient visits post-discharge, subject to limits p.20
Congenital conditionsExcluded if manifested or diagnosed before age 8 p.26
Pregnancy complicationsnone p.26
Emergency dentalCovered for emergency treatment and surgery during confinement arising from an accident p.26
Hospital cashnone
Companion bednone
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationnot stated p.1
No-claim discount15% of annual premium if no claim made in preceding 3 policy years p.42
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listPurchase of durable medical equipment; Health history-based screening p.25

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms