Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00013-06-001-06. It entitles the insured to a private room and covers treatment worldwide.
| Age | Annual premium |
|---|---|
| 30 | HK$2,713 |
| 45 | HK$4,625 |
| 60 | HK$7,228 |
| 75 | HK$16,257 |
Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.
| Room | Private |
|---|---|
| Geographical cover | worldwide |
| Annual limit | None |
| Lifetime limit | None |
| Room and board | HK$581 |
| Hospital charges | HK$4,646 |
| Doctor's visits | HK$517 |
| Specialist fees | HK$1,585 |
| Intensive care | HK$1,239 |
| Surgeon's fee | HK$14,194 |
| Anaesthetist | As stated in the schedule |
| Operating theatre | As stated in the schedule |
| Diagnostic imaging | HK$5,162 |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | HK$29,033 |
| Outpatient before and after | HK$1,033 |
| Psychiatric treatment | HK$5,162 |
Also includes outpatient general, maternity, chinese medicine, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.
Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.
| Guaranteed renewal to age | lifetime p.9 |
|---|---|
| Pre-existing conditions unknown at application | First 30 days of the first Policy Year no coverage, 31st day of the first Policy Year onwards full coverage p.16 |
| Waiting period | none |
| Cancellation and refund | Full refund within 21-day cooling-off period if no benefit paid; pro-rata refund for current Policy Year upon death of Insured Person or Company ceasing authorization p.3 |
| Switching from another plan | Switching to another plan with upgrade or addition of benefits is subject to re-underwriting for the upgraded/additional benefits p.11 |
| Room class | not restricted p.13 |
| If a higher room is used | Relevant Benefit Payable multiplied by a percentage (25% or 50%) if a higher room class is chosen voluntarily, depending on the room type p.33 |
| Geographical cover | worldwide p.13 |
| Psychiatric treatment area | Hong Kong only p.15 |
| Emergency treatment abroad | Covered as part of worldwide cover p.13 |
| Full cover on core benefits | no p.32 |
| Annual limit | unlimited p.33 |
| Lifetime limit | none p.13 |
| How the deductible applies | per Policy Year p.20 |
| Coinsurance | 30% for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests p.32 |
| Pre-admission outpatient | 1 visit per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, $259 per visit, up to $1,033 per Policy Year p.32 |
| Post-discharge outpatient | 3 visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure within 90 days after discharge, $259 per visit, up to $1,033 per Policy Year p.32 |
| General outpatient | none |
| Psychiatric treatment | $5,162 per Policy Year p.32 |
| Diagnostic imaging coinsurance | 30% (can be 0% if conditions are met) p.32 |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | $29,033 per Policy Year p.32 |
| Kidney dialysis | $25,807 per Policy Year p.33 |
| Day case procedures | Covered as in-patient for various benefits, no specific limit stated for the procedure itself but for related items p.13 |
| Home nursing | $176 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year within 31 days after discharge p.33 |
| Hospice care | none p.21 |
| Chinese medicine | $104 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year for Specified Cancer within 90 days after discharge p.33 |
| Physiotherapy | $194 per visit, maximum 10 visits per Policy Year (1 prior, treatments within 90 days after discharge) p.33 |
| Congenital conditions | Excluded if manifested or diagnosed before age 8 p.19 |
| Pregnancy complications | Covered for specified complications according to limits of various benefit items, if diagnosed at least 300 days after Policy Effective Date p.31 |
| Emergency dental | Covered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.19 |
| Hospital cash | none |
| Companion bed | $130 per day, maximum 180 days per Policy Year p.33 |
| Second medical opinion | not stated |
| Direct billing and pre-authorisation | Available with Network Medical Services Providers and Network Imaging Centres via Electronic Medical Card and pre-authorisation p.32 |
| No-claim discount | 15% of total premiums paid if no benefit has been paid during the previous 36 consecutive months p.28 |
| Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard list | Traditional Chinese medicine treatment (e.g., herbal, bone-setting, acupuncture) and other alternative treatments (e.g., hypnotism, qigong, massage therapy) p.18 |
At a constant age of 45, Prudential has filed 2 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +3.2% a year, taking the premium from HK$3,654 to HK$4,625.
| Year | Change |
|---|---|
| 2022 | no change |
| 2023 | +7.5% |
| 2024 | no change |
| 2025 | +17.7% |
| 2026 | no change |
A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.
| Option | Room | Deductible | Annual limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private Room with SMM (USD) | Private | None | Nil (no Annual Benefit Limit) |
| Private Room with SMM (USD) | Private | None | Nil (no Annual Benefit Limit) |
Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.
Every procedure with published bills
The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.