VHIS Hong Kong
PRUDENTIAL · F00013-06-000-06

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00013-06-000-06. It entitles the insured to a private room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$1,948
45HK$3,273
60HK$5,296
75HK$12,196

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomPrivate
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$581
Hospital chargesHK$4,646
Doctor's visitsHK$517
Specialist feesHK$1,585
Intensive careHK$1,239
Surgeon's feeHK$14,194
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$5,162
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$29,033
Outpatient before and afterHK$1,033
Psychiatric treatmentHK$5,162

Also includes outpatient general, maternity, chinese medicine, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to agelifetime p.9
Pre-existing conditions unknown at application0% for first 30 days of Policy Year 1, 100% from day 31 of Policy Year 1 p.16
Waiting period30 days for pre-existing conditions unknown at application; 300 days for pregnancy complications p.4
Cancellation and refundfull refund if cancelled within 21-day cooling-off period (no benefit paid); after cooling-off, 30 days written notice required, no refund if benefit paid in current Policy Year p.3
Switching from another planallowed to switch to plans with upgraded/additional benefits (re-underwriting limited to new benefits); option to upgrade PRUHealth Major benefit limit once without new underwriting p.6
Room classPrivate Room p.1
If a higher room is usedIf a room above Private Room is used, Relevant Benefit Payable is multiplied by 25% p.6
Geographical coverworldwide p.13
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.15
Emergency treatment abroadcovered worldwide p.13
Full cover on core benefitsno p.1
Annual limitunlimited p.2
Lifetime limitnone p.2
Deductible optionsnone
Coinsurancenone (except for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests) p.1
Pre-admission outpatient$259 per visit, 1 visit per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, up to $1,033 per Policy Year p.1
Post-discharge outpatient$259 per visit, 3 visits within 90 days after discharge/completion of Day Case Procedure, up to $1,033 per Policy Year p.1
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatment$5,162 per Policy Year p.1
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% (0% if conditions in Supplement Section 3 are met) p.1
Non-surgical cancer treatment$29,033 per Policy Year p.1
Kidney dialysis$25,807 per Policy Year p.2
Day case procedurescovered as in-patient for various benefits, specific procedures listed in schedule p.14
Home nursing$176 per visit, max 15 visits per Policy Year, within 31 days post-discharge/Day Case Procedure p.2
Hospice carenone p.21
Chinese medicine$104 per visit, max 15 visits per Policy Year, within 90 days post-discharge/treatment, for Specified Cancer only p.2
Physiotherapy$194 per visit, max 10 visits per Policy Year, max 1 prior visit, within 90 days post-discharge/Day Case Procedure p.2
Congenital conditionscovered if manifested or diagnosed after age 8 p.19
Pregnancy complicationscovered for Covered Pregnancy Complications, subject to 300-day waiting period and limits of specific benefit items p.2
Emergency dentalcovered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.18
Hospital cashnone
Companion bed$130 per day, max 180 days per Policy Year p.2
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationavailable with Network Medical Services Providers and Network Imaging Centres, requires Electronic Medical Card and pre-authorisation p.1
No-claim discount15% of total premiums paid if no benefits claimed for 36 consecutive months p.1
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listHair Mineral Analysis (HMA); health supplements; sex reassignment; sexual dysfunction; purchase of durable medical equipment for home use p.18

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, Prudential has filed 2 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +2.7% a year, taking the premium from HK$2,684 to HK$3,273.

YearChange
2022no change
2023+7.5%
2024no change
2025+13.5%
2026no change

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
Private Room (USD)PrivateNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)
Private Room (USD)PrivateNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms