VHIS Hong Kong
PRUDENTIAL · F00013-05-002-06

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00013-05-002-06. It entitles the insured to a semi-private room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$1,831
45HK$3,008
60HK$4,667
75HK$10,186

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomSemi-private
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$323
Hospital chargesHK$3,355
Doctor's visitsHK$284
Specialist feesHK$852
Intensive careHK$800
Surgeon's feeHK$9,678
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$3,871
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$19,355
Outpatient before and afterHK$723
Psychiatric treatmentHK$4,517

Also includes outpatient general, maternity, chinese medicine, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to agelifetime p.9
Pre-existing conditions unknown at applicationFirst 30 days of the first Policy Year no coverage; 31st day of the first Policy Year onwards full coverage p.16
Waiting periodnone
Cancellation and refundFull refund within 21-day cooling-off period. No refund after cooling-off period. p.3
Switching from another planAllowed to switch to another plan with upgrade/addition (limited re-underwriting) or downgrade/reduction (no re-underwriting, company discretion). p.11
Room classnot restricted p.13
If a higher room is usedIf a higher room class than Covered Room is chosen, Relevant Benefit Payable will be multiplied by 25% or 50% depending on the room type, before reimbursement. p.29
Geographical coverworldwide p.13
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.15
Emergency treatment abroadcovered worldwide p.13
Full cover on core benefitsno p.32
Annual limitunlimited p.33
Lifetime limitnone p.13
Deductible optionsnone
How the deductible appliesnone
Coinsurance30% for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests (0% if conditions met); 20% for PRUHealth Major non-network care benefits p.32
Pre-admission outpatient1 visit per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, up to $181 per visit and $723 per Policy Year. PRUHealth Major network care adds 1 additional visit. p.32
Post-discharge outpatient3 visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure within 90 days, up to $181 per visit and $723 per Policy Year. PRUHealth Major network care adds 3 additional visits. p.32
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatment$4,517 per Policy Year p.32
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% (0% if conditions stated in Section 3 of Supplement – Benefits are fully satisfied) p.32
Non-surgical cancer treatment$19,355 per Policy Year p.32
Kidney dialysis$17,420 per Policy Year p.33
Day case procedurescovered as in-patient, subject to general benefit limits p.14
Home nursing$124 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year within 31 days post-discharge. PRUHealth Major non-network care adds up to 16 additional visits. p.33
Hospice carenone p.22
Chinese medicine$78 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year for Specified Cancer within 90 days post-discharge. PRUHealth Major non-network care adds up to 16 additional visits. p.33
Physiotherapy$149 per visit, maximum 10 visits per Policy Year (1 prior, others within 90 days post-discharge). PRUHealth Major non-network care adds up to 21 additional visits. p.33
Congenital conditionscovered from age 8 p.19
Pregnancy complicationsCovered for specified complications, subject to benefit limits of I(a)-I(i), I(k), II(a), II(b), after 300-day waiting period from Policy Effective Date. p.29
Emergency dentalcovered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.19
Hospital cashnone
Companion bed$104 per day, maximum 180 days per Policy Year p.33
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationAvailable through Network Medical Services Providers and Network Imaging Centres with pre-authorisation and Electronic Medical Card for PRUHealth network care benefit. p.28
No-claim discount15% of total premiums paid if no benefits claimed for 36 consecutive months, deposited into premium deposit account. p.28
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listPurchase of durable medical equipment or appliances. p.18

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, Prudential has filed 2 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +3.2% a year, taking the premium from HK$2,376 to HK$3,008.

YearChange
2022no change
2023+7.5%
2024no change
2025+17.8%
2026no change

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
Semi-private Room with SMM 2 (USD)Semi-privateNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)
Semi-private Room with SMM 2 (USD)Semi-privateNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms