Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00013-04-002-06. It entitles the insured to a ward room and covers treatment worldwide.
| Age | Annual premium |
|---|---|
| 30 | HK$1,052 |
| 45 | HK$1,790 |
| 60 | HK$2,645 |
| 75 | HK$5,607 |
Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.
| Room | Ward |
|---|---|
| Geographical cover | worldwide |
| Annual limit | None |
| Lifetime limit | None |
| Room and board | HK$155 |
| Hospital charges | HK$2,323 |
| Doctor's visits | HK$130 |
| Specialist fees | HK$555 |
| Intensive care | HK$452 |
| Surgeon's fee | HK$6,452 |
| Anaesthetist | As stated in the schedule |
| Operating theatre | As stated in the schedule |
| Diagnostic imaging | HK$2,581 |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | HK$12,904 |
| Outpatient before and after | HK$568 |
| Psychiatric treatment | HK$3,871 |
Also includes outpatient general, maternity, chinese medicine, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.
Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.
| Guaranteed renewal to age | lifetime p.9 |
|---|---|
| Pre-existing conditions unknown at application | First 30 days of the first Policy Year no coverage, 31st day of the first Policy Year onwards full coverage p.16 |
| Waiting period | none |
| Cancellation and refund | Full refund within 21-day cooling-off period. After cooling-off, cancellation with 30 days' notice if no benefit paid in current Policy Year. p.3 |
| Switching from another plan | Possible to switch to another plan with upgraded/additional benefits, subject to re-underwriting for those benefits. p.11 |
| Room class | Ward p.1 |
| If a higher room is used | If a higher room class is chosen, the Relevant Benefit Payable will be multiplied by 50% for Semi-private Room, 25% for Private Room, and 25% for Above Private Room. p.6 |
| Geographical cover | worldwide p.13 |
| Psychiatric treatment area | Hong Kong only p.15 |
| Emergency treatment abroad | Covered worldwide, no specific limit stated for emergency overseas treatment. p.13 |
| Full cover on core benefits | no p.1 |
| Annual limit | unlimited p.2 |
| Lifetime limit | none p.2 |
| Deductible options | none |
| Coinsurance | none |
| Pre-admission outpatient | 1 visit per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, up to USD 142 per visit, USD 568 per Policy Year p.1 |
| Post-discharge outpatient | 3 visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure within 90 days, up to USD 142 per visit, USD 568 per Policy Year p.1 |
| General outpatient | none |
| Psychiatric treatment | USD 3,871 per Policy Year p.1 |
| Diagnostic imaging coinsurance | 30% (0% if conditions in Section 3 of Supplement – Benefits are satisfied) p.1 |
| Non-surgical cancer treatment | USD 12,904 per Policy Year p.1 |
| Kidney dialysis | Covered up to USD 11,613 per Policy Year p.2 |
| Day case procedures | Covered as in-patient, individual benefit limits apply p.14 |
| Home nursing | USD 78 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year within 31 days after discharge p.2 |
| Hospice care | none |
| Chinese medicine | For Specified Cancer only, USD 52 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year within 90 days after discharge p.2 |
| Physiotherapy | USD 97 per visit, maximum 10 visits per Policy Year (1 prior visit, treatments within 90 days after discharge) p.2 |
| Congenital conditions | Covered from age 8 p.19 |
| Pregnancy complications | Covered according to limits of basic benefits I(a)-(i), I(k), II(a)-(b), if diagnosed at least 300 days after Policy Effective Date. p.2 |
| Emergency dental | Covered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.19 |
| Hospital cash | none |
| Companion bed | USD 78 per day, maximum 180 days per Policy Year p.2 |
| Second medical opinion | not stated |
| Direct billing and pre-authorisation | Pre-authorisation and Electronic Medical Card for Network Medical Services Providers or Network Imaging Centres under optional PRUHealth Major p.5 |
| No-claim discount | 15% of total premiums paid if no benefit has been paid during the previous 36 consecutive months (with exceptions for certain Day Case Procedures) p.1 |
| Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard list | Expenses incurred for treatments, procedures, medications, tests or services which are not Medically Necessary; Disability arising from dependence, overdose or influence of drugs, alcohol, narcotics or similar drugs or agents; Purchase of durable medical equipment or appliances p.18 |
At a constant age of 45, Prudential has filed 2 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +3.2% a year, taking the premium from HK$1,413 to HK$1,790.
| Year | Change |
|---|---|
| 2022 | no change |
| 2023 | +7.5% |
| 2024 | no change |
| 2025 | +17.8% |
| 2026 | no change |
A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.
| Option | Room | Deductible | Annual limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ward with SMM 2 (USD) | Ward | None | Nil (no Annual Benefit Limit) |
| Ward with SMM 2 (USD) | Ward | None | Nil (no Annual Benefit Limit) |
Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.
Every procedure with published bills
The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.