VHIS Hong Kong
PRUDENTIAL · F00013-04-001-06

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00013-04-001-06. It entitles the insured to a ward room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$876
45HK$1,491
60HK$2,204
75HK$4,672

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomWard
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$155
Hospital chargesHK$2,323
Doctor's visitsHK$130
Specialist feesHK$555
Intensive careHK$452
Surgeon's feeHK$6,452
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$2,581
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$12,904
Outpatient before and afterHK$568
Psychiatric treatmentHK$3,871

Also includes outpatient general, maternity, chinese medicine, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to agelifetime p.9
Pre-existing conditions unknown at application0% for first 30 days of Policy Year 1, 100% from day 31 of Policy Year 1 p.17
Waiting period30 days for unknown pre-existing conditions; 300 days for pregnancy complications p.17
Cancellation and refundFull refund within 21-day cooling-off period if no benefit payment made p.3
Switching from another planOption to switch to another plan with upgraded/additional benefits (re-underwriting limited to new benefits); option to upgrade PRUHealth Major benefit limit without new health evidence at certain ages p.11
Room classWard p.1
If a higher room is usedIf higher room chosen voluntarily, benefits are reduced by a percentage (e.g., 50% for Semi-private, 25% for Private if Ward is covered) p.6
Geographical coverworldwide p.13
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.15
Emergency treatment abroadCovered worldwide as per general territory, no specific limit stated p.13
Full cover on core benefitspartial p.3
Annual limit$17,807 per Disability per Policy Year p.3
Lifetime limitnone p.13
Deductible optionsnone
Coinsurance20% for PRUHealth Major non-network care; 30% for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests (reducible to 0%) p.1
Pre-admission outpatient$142 per visit, 1 visit per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, up to $568 per Policy Year p.1
Post-discharge outpatient$142 per visit, 3 visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure within 90 days, up to $568 per Policy Year p.1
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatment$3,871 per Policy Year p.1
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% (reducible to 0% if conditions in Supplement Section 3 are met) p.1
Non-surgical cancer treatment$12,904 per Policy Year p.1
Kidney dialysisCovered up to $11,613 per Policy Year p.2
Day case proceduresCovered as in-patient for various benefits, no specific limit stated for the procedure itself p.13
Home nursing$78 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year within 31 days post-discharge/Day Case Procedure p.2
Hospice carenone p.21
Chinese medicine$52 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year for Specified Cancer within 90 days post-discharge/treatment p.2
Physiotherapy$97 per visit, maximum 10 visits per Policy Year (1 prior, rest within 90 days post-discharge/Day Case Procedure) p.2
Congenital conditionsCovered from age 8 p.19
Pregnancy complicationsCovered according to limits of basic and enhanced benefits I(a)-(i), I(k), II(a)-(b), after 300-day waiting period p.2
Emergency dentalCovered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.19
Hospital cashnone
Companion bed$78 per day, maximum 180 days per Policy Year p.2
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationAvailable via Electronic Medical Card for Network Medical Services Providers and Network Imaging Centres, with pre-authorisation for PRUHealth Major network care p.1
No-claim discount15% of total premiums paid if no benefit is paid for 36 consecutive months, deposited into premium deposit account p.1
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listdependence, overdose or influence of drugs, alcohol, narcotics or similar drugs or agents; venereal and sexually transmitted disease or its sequelae; birth control or reversal of birth control, sterilisation or sex reassignment, sexual dysfunction; purchase of durable medical equipment or appliances p.18

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, Prudential has filed 2 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +3.2% a year, taking the premium from HK$1,178 to HK$1,491.

YearChange
2022no change
2023+7.5%
2024no change
2025+17.8%
2026no change

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
Ward with SMM 1 (USD)WardNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)
Ward with SMM 1 (USD)WardNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms