VHIS Hong Kong
PRUDENTIAL · F00013-04-000-06

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00013-04-000-06. It entitles the insured to a ward room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$537
45HK$913
60HK$1,436
75HK$3,077

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomWard
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$155
Hospital chargesHK$2,323
Doctor's visitsHK$130
Specialist feesHK$555
Intensive careHK$452
Surgeon's feeHK$6,452
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$2,581
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$12,904
Outpatient before and afterHK$568
Psychiatric treatmentHK$3,871

Also includes outpatient general, maternity, chinese medicine, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to agelifetime p.10
Pre-existing conditions unknown at applicationFirst 30 days of the first Policy Year no coverage, 31st day of the first Policy Year onwards full coverage p.16
Waiting periodnone
Cancellation and refundfull refund within 21-day cooling-off period if no benefits paid; no refund after cooling-off period for policyholder cancellation p.3
Switching from another planpossible to switch to another plan with upgraded/additional benefits, subject to re-underwriting for the upgraded/additional benefits p.11
Room classnot restricted p.13
If a higher room is usednot applicable as basic benefits are not subject to any restriction in the choice of ward class p.13
Geographical coverworldwide p.13
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.15
Emergency treatment abroadcovered worldwide, subject to general limits p.13
Full cover on core benefitsno p.32
Annual limitunlimited p.32
Lifetime limitnone p.32
Deductible optionsnone
How the deductible appliesnot applicable
Coinsurancenone (except for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests) p.32
Pre-admission outpatient1 visit per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, up to USD 142 per visit and USD 568 per Policy Year p.32
Post-discharge outpatient3 visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure (within 90 days), up to USD 142 per visit and USD 568 per Policy Year p.32
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatmentUSD 3,871 per Policy Year p.32
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% (0% if conditions in Supplement Section 3 are met) p.32
Non-surgical cancer treatmentUSD 12,904 per Policy Year p.32
Kidney dialysisCovered up to USD 11,613 per Policy Year p.32
Day case procedurescovered as in-patient, subject to individual benefit item limits p.13
Home nursingUSD 78 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year (within 31 days post-discharge/Day Case Procedure) p.32
Hospice carenone p.21
Chinese medicinefor Specified Cancer only, USD 52 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year (within 90 days post-discharge/treatment) p.19
PhysiotherapyUSD 97 per visit, maximum 10 visits per Policy Year (1 prior visit, treatments within 90 days post-discharge/Day Case Procedure) p.32
Congenital conditionscovered if manifested or diagnosed after age 8 p.19
Pregnancy complicationscovered for Covered Pregnancy Complications, subject to benefit limits of items I(a)-(i), I(k), II(a), II(b), and 300-day waiting period p.4
Emergency dentalcovered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.19
Hospital cashnone
Companion bedUSD 78 per day, maximum 180 days per Policy Year p.32
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationAvailable through Network Medical Services Providers and Network Imaging Centres using Electronic Medical Card and pre-authorisation p.29
No-claim discount15% of total premiums paid if no benefit has been paid for 36 consecutive months p.28
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listdependence, overdose or influence of drugs, alcohol, narcotics or similar drugs or agents; venereal and sexually transmitted disease; sex reassignment, birth control/reversal, sterilisation, sexual dysfunction; purchase of durable medical equipment or appliances; traditional Chinese medicine treatment and other forms of alternative treatment (unless for Specified Cancer) p.18

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, Prudential has filed 2 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +2.7% a year, taking the premium from HK$748 to HK$913.

YearChange
2022no change
2023+7.5%
2024no change
2025+13.5%
2026no change

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
Ward (USD)WardNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)
Ward (USD)WardNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms