VHIS Hong Kong
PRUDENTIAL · F00013-03-001-06

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00013-03-001-06. It entitles the insured to a private room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$21,024
45HK$35,845
60HK$56,013
75HK$125,993

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomPrivate
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$4,500
Hospital chargesHK$36,000
Doctor's visitsHK$4,000
Specialist feesHK$12,280
Intensive careHK$9,600
Surgeon's feeHK$110,000
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$40,000
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$225,000
Outpatient before and afterHK$8,000
Psychiatric treatmentHK$40,000

Also includes outpatient general, maternity, chinese medicine, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to agelifetime p.10
Pre-existing conditions unknown at application0% for the first 30 days of the first Policy Year, 100% from 31st day of the first Policy Year onwards p.17
Waiting periodnone
Cancellation and refundFull refund of paid premium if cancelled within 21-day cooling-off period p.3
Switching from another planSwitching to another plan with upgraded benefits may require re-underwriting; switching to downgraded benefits does not require re-underwriting but is subject to company discretion p.11
Room classPrivate p.32
If a higher room is usedIf a higher room class than Covered Room is chosen, Relevant Benefit Payable is multiplied by a percentage (e.g., 25% for Above Private Room if Covered Room is Private Room) p.33
Geographical coverworldwide p.13
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.16
Emergency treatment abroadcovered worldwide p.13
Full cover on core benefitsyes p.34
Annual limit552,000 per Disability p.34
Lifetime limitnone p.13
Deductible optionsnone
How the deductible appliesnot stated
Coinsurance20% for PRUHealth non-network care benefit; 30% for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests (can be 0% if conditions met) p.32
Pre-admission outpatient1 visit per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, up to HKD 2,000 per visit, HKD 8,000 per Policy Year p.32
Post-discharge outpatient3 visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure within 90 days after discharge, up to HKD 2,000 per visit, HKD 8,000 per Policy Year p.32
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatmentHKD 40,000 per Policy Year p.32
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% (can be 0% if conditions in Section 3 of Supplement – Benefits are fully satisfied) p.32
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHKD 225,000 per Policy Year p.32
Kidney dialysisCovered up to HKD 200,000 per Policy Year, including rental cost of home dialysis machine p.33
Day case proceduresCovered as in-patient, no specific limit stated beyond general benefit limits p.13
Home nursingHKD 1,360 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year within 31 days after discharge p.33
Hospice carenone p.19
Chinese medicineFor Specified Cancer only, HKD 800 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year within 90 days after discharge p.33
PhysiotherapyHKD 1,500 per visit, maximum 10 visits per Policy Year (1 prior visit, treatments within 90 days after discharge) p.33
Congenital conditionsCovered if manifested or diagnosed after age 8 p.19
Pregnancy complicationsCovered for specified complications, subject to 300-day waiting period from Policy Effective Date, payable according to limits of basic and some enhanced benefits p.30
Emergency dentalCovered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.19
Hospital cashnone
Companion bedHKD 1,000 per day, maximum 180 days per Policy Year for immediate family member p.33
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationPre-authorisation arrangement and Electronic Medical Card for Network Medical Services Providers and Network Imaging Centres p.34
No-claim discount15% of total premiums paid if no benefits claimed for 36 consecutive months p.28
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listHair Mineral Analysis (HMA); purchase of durable medical equipment or appliances; hypnotism, qigong, massage therapy, aromatherapy, naturopathy, hydropathy, homeotherapy p.18

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, Prudential has filed 2 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +3.2% a year, taking the premium from HK$28,319 to HK$35,845.

YearChange
2022no change
2023+7.5%
2024no change
2025+17.7%
2026no change

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
Private Room with SMM (HKD)PrivateNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)
Private Room with SMM (HKD)PrivateNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms