VHIS Hong Kong
PRUDENTIAL · F00013-02-002-06

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00013-02-002-06. It entitles the insured to a semi-private room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$14,191
45HK$23,314
60HK$36,171
75HK$78,942

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomSemi-private
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$2,500
Hospital chargesHK$26,000
Doctor's visitsHK$2,200
Specialist feesHK$6,600
Intensive careHK$6,200
Surgeon's feeHK$75,000
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$30,000
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$150,000
Outpatient before and afterHK$5,600
Psychiatric treatmentHK$35,000

Also includes outpatient general, maternity, chinese medicine, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to agelifetime p.9
Pre-existing conditions unknown at applicationNo coverage for first 30 days of the first Policy Year, full coverage from 31st day of the first Policy Year onwards p.16
Waiting periodnone p.16
Cancellation and refundFull refund within 21-day cooling-off period if no benefits claimed; after cooling-off, cancellation with 30 days' notice if no benefits claimed in Policy Year p.3
Switching from another planOption to upgrade PRUHealth Major benefit limit without new underwriting at specific ages; switching to plans with upgraded benefits may involve re-underwriting p.7
Room classSemi-private p.1
If a higher room is usedIf a higher room class is chosen voluntarily, Relevant Benefit Payable is multiplied by a percentage (e.g., 50% for Private Room if Semi-private is covered, 25% for Above Private Room if Semi-private is covered) before reimbursement. p.6
Geographical coverworldwide, except for psychiatric treatment p.13
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.15
Emergency treatment abroadCovered under worldwide territorial scope p.13
Full cover on core benefitspartial p.1
Annual limitHKD 414,000 per Disability per Policy Year (for PRUHealth Major) p.3
Lifetime limitnone p.13
Deductible optionsnone
How the deductible appliesnone
Coinsurance20% for PRUHealth non-network care benefit; 30% for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests (reducible to 0%) p.1
Pre-admission outpatient1 visit per Confinement/Day Case Procedure, up to HKD 1,400 per visit and HKD 5,600 per Policy Year p.1
Post-discharge outpatient3 visits per Confinement/Day Case Procedure (within 90 days), up to HKD 1,400 per visit and HKD 5,600 per Policy Year p.1
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatmentHKD 35,000 per Policy Year p.1
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% (reducible to 0% if conditions in Supplement Section 3 are met) p.1
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHKD 150,000 per Policy Year p.1
Kidney dialysisCovered up to HKD 135,000 per Policy Year p.2
Day case proceduresCovered as in-patient for various benefits, no specific limit stated for the procedure itself but benefits apply p.13
Home nursingHKD 960 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year (within 31 days post-discharge/Day Case Procedure) p.2
Hospice carenone p.21
Chinese medicineFor Specified Cancer only, HKD 600 per visit, maximum 15 visits per Policy Year (within 90 days post-discharge/treatment) p.2
PhysiotherapyHKD 1,150 per visit, maximum 10 visits per Policy Year (1 prior visit, treatments within 90 days post-discharge/Day Case Procedure) p.2
Congenital conditionsCovered if manifested or diagnosed after age 8 p.19
Pregnancy complicationsCovered according to limits of various benefit items, if diagnosed at least 300 days after Policy Effective Date p.2
Emergency dentalCovered for Emergency Treatment and surgery during Confinement arising from an Accident p.18
Hospital cashnone
Companion bedHKD 800 per day, maximum 180 days per Policy Year p.2
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationPre-authorisation arrangement and Electronic Medical Card for Network Medical Services Providers and Network Imaging Centres p.1
No-claim discount15% of total premiums paid if no benefits claimed for 36 consecutive months p.1
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard liststandard VHIS exclusions only p.18

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, Prudential has filed 2 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +3.2% a year, taking the premium from HK$18,417 to HK$23,314.

YearChange
2022no change
2023+7.5%
2024no change
2025+17.8%
2026no change

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
Semi-private Room with SMM 2 (HKD)Semi-privateNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)
Semi-private Room with SMM 2 (HKD)Semi-privateNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms