VHIS Hong Kong
PRUDENTIAL · F00013-01-000-06

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan

Prudential PRUHealth FlexiChoice Medical Plan is a Flexi Plan certified under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme, certification number F00013-01-000-06. It entitles the insured to a ward room and covers treatment worldwide.

Premium by age, current schedule

AgeAnnual premium
30HK$4,162
45HK$7,075
60HK$11,126
75HK$23,846

Female non-smoker, the plan currency, before levy. Age is the only thing that changes down this table; it is the plan's own filed schedule, not a quotation.

What it pays

RoomWard
Geographical coverworldwide
Annual limitNone
Lifetime limitNone
Room and boardHK$1,200
Hospital chargesHK$18,000
Doctor's visitsHK$1,000
Specialist feesHK$4,300
Intensive careHK$3,500
Surgeon's feeHK$50,000
AnaesthetistAs stated in the schedule
Operating theatreAs stated in the schedule
Diagnostic imagingHK$20,000
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHK$100,000
Outpatient before and afterHK$4,400
Psychiatric treatmentHK$30,000

Also includes outpatient general, maternity, chinese medicine, home nursing, a companion bed, rehabilitation, hospice care, kidney dialysis, a death benefit.

What the plan document states

Read from the certified Terms and Benefits. Each page link opens that page of the filed document. Fields the document does not state are left out.

Guaranteed renewal to agelifetime p.10
Pre-existing conditions unknown at application0% for first 30 days of Policy Year 1, 100% from day 31 of Policy Year 1 onwards p.16
Waiting period30 days for unknown pre-existing conditions; 300 days for pregnancy complications p.3
Cancellation and refundFull refund within 21-day cooling-off period; pro-rata refund for current policy year upon death of Insured Person or company ceasing authorization p.3
Switching from another planAllowed to switch to another plan with upgrade/addition of benefits (re-underwriting limited to new benefits) or downgrade/reduction of benefits (no re-underwriting, discretion applies) p.11
Room classWard p.32
If a higher room is usedNo restriction in the choice of ward class for basic and enhanced benefits p.13
Geographical coverWorldwide, except for psychiatric treatment p.13
Psychiatric treatment areaHong Kong only p.15
Emergency treatment abroadCovered worldwide p.13
Full cover on core benefitsno p.32
Annual limitUnlimited (subject to individual benefit item limits) p.33
Lifetime limitnone p.13
Deductible optionsnone p.17
Coinsurancenone (except for Prescribed Diagnostic Imaging Tests) p.32
Pre-admission outpatient1 visit per confinement/day case procedure, up to HKD 1,100 per visit, capped at HKD 4,400 per policy year p.32
Post-discharge outpatient3 visits per confinement/day case procedure within 90 days, up to HKD 1,100 per visit, capped at HKD 4,400 per policy year p.32
General outpatientnone
Psychiatric treatmentHKD 30,000 per Policy Year p.32
Diagnostic imaging coinsurance30% (0% if conditions in Section 3 of Supplement – Benefits are met) p.32
Non-surgical cancer treatmentHKD 100,000 per Policy Year p.32
Kidney dialysisCovered up to HKD 90,000 per Policy Year p.33
Day case proceduresCovered as per relevant benefit items (e.g., room and board, miscellaneous charges, surgeon's fee) p.14
Home nursingHKD 600 per visit, maximum 15 visits per policy year within 31 days post-discharge p.33
Hospice carenone p.21
Chinese medicineFor Specified Cancer only, HKD 400 per visit, maximum 15 visits per policy year within 90 days post-discharge p.33
PhysiotherapyHKD 750 per visit, maximum 10 visits per policy year (pre-confinement and within 90 days post-discharge) p.33
Congenital conditionsCovered if manifested or diagnosed at or after age 8 p.19
Pregnancy complicationsCovered as per relevant benefit items, subject to 300-day waiting period p.33
Emergency dentalEmergency Treatment and surgery during confinement arising from an Accident p.19
Hospital cashnone
Companion bedHKD 600 per day, maximum 180 days per policy year p.33
Second medical opinionnot stated
Direct billing and pre-authorisationAvailable through Network Medical Services Providers or Network Imaging Centres with Electronic Medical Card and pre-authorisation p.1
No-claim discount15% of total premiums paid if no benefit has been paid during the preceding 36 consecutive months (with exceptions for certain day case procedures) p.1
Exclusions beyond the VHIS standard listTraditional Chinese medicine treatment and other forms of alternative treatment (unless covered by Section 9 of Supplement – Benefits) p.18

Premium record since 2021

At a constant age of 45, Prudential has filed 2 schedule changes on this plan since 2021, an average of +2.7% a year, taking the premium from HK$5,797 to HK$7,075.

YearChange
2022no change
2023+7.5%
2024no change
2025+13.5%
2026no change

A record of what has been filed, not a forecast of what you will pay.

Options under this certification

OptionRoomDeductibleAnnual limit
Ward (HKD)WardNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)
Ward (HKD)WardNoneNil (no Annual Benefit Limit)

What a claim on this plan would look like

Private hospitals publish what they billed for common operations. These pages take those bills and work out what a plan pays of them.

Colonoscopy with or without polypectomyHK$21,098 to HK$54,834 depending on the hospital
ColposcopyHK$23,320 to HK$43,971 depending on the hospital
Trigger finger releaseHK$25,622 to HK$58,423 depending on the hospital
Cystoscopy with or without biopsyHK$23,116 to HK$62,569 depending on the hospital
CircumcisionHK$25,841 to HK$55,602 depending on the hospital
Gastroscopy with or without polypectomyHK$18,484 to HK$72,307 depending on the hospital

Every procedure with published bills

The certified plan document as filed, on the Health Bureau's VHIS site.

Price this plan for your age

Premiums are annual, in the plan currency, before the Insurance Authority levy, taken from the Standard Premium Schedules filed with the Health Bureau. Rate records come from every schedule archived on data.gov.hk since March 2021 and are a track record, not a forecast. Information only, not regulated advice.

Compare plans · Insurers · All plans · What treatment costs · Premium increases · MCP server · Privacy · Terms